Teacher Subject Specialist Training (TSST)

TSST courses are funded by the Department for Education (ie are free to attend) in order to increase the amount of specialist teaching.

If you are a school that has non-specialists teaching secondary maths, physics or MFL, or if you have difficulty recruiting to these subjects, then TSST could be a free way to upskill existing non-specialist teachers. It could help with timetable planning and vacancies.

If you are a teacher who is (or is likely to be) teaching Maths, Physics or a Modern Foreign Language outside your main specialism, then free TSST will help increase your subject knowledge, confidence and improve your delivery.

There are 12 TSST providers within the East Midlands, South Yorkshire and Humber region. Information about the course locations, content, and contact details are detailed on the location map below which is best viewed through Google Chrome.  Provider details can also be found at the bottom of the page.

Who qualifies for free TSST training?
  • Non specialist teachers who could potentially teach mathematics, physics or MFL in addition to, or as, their main subject
  • Non-specialist teachers who are currently teaching mathematics, physics or MFL (either full time or in addition to their main specialism
  • Teachers looking to return to the profession
  • Specialist MFL teachers who are not currently teaching MFL, but who need refresher training to enable a move back to an MFL role
  • Specialist MFL teachers who have the capacity to teach a second language in addition to their language specialism
  • Primary teachers are eligible if they will be teaching year7/8 pupils as part of cross-school key stage 2/3 collaboration, or if they have firm plans to convert from primary to a secondary teaching post.
  • Supply teachers are eligible if they do not have a contract with a school and are committed to returning to a permanent post in a secondary school or sixth form college
  • NB – teachers without QTS who are teaching academies are also eligible
  • NB – those who are a member of the Society for Education and have been awarded QTLS are eligible if they have firm plans to teach a TSST subject in a secondary school or sixth form college.

Providers

There are 12 TSST providers within the East Midlands, South Yorkshire and Humber region. Information about the course locations, content, and contact details are listed below.

Case Studies

TSST Providers Details

Please see below the details of the 12 TSST Providers:

Outwood Academy Adwick, Doncaster DN67SF

Secondary Maths, Physics

Contact: Emma Rennison

Tel: 01302 722237

Email: e.rennison@outwood.com

www.adwick@outwood.com

 

Notre Dame High School, Sheffield S10 3BT

Secondary Maths, Physics

Contact: John Coats

Tel: 0114 2302536

Email: jcoats@hallamtsa.org.uk

www.hallamtsa.org.uk

 

St Martin’s School, Derby DE24 0BT

Physics

Contact: Deborah Outhwaite

Tel: 01332 571151

Email: Deborah.outhwaite@dtsa.org.uk

www.stmartinsschoolderby.co.uk

 

South Hunsley School & Sixth Form College, Hull HU14 3HS

Secondary Maths, Physics, MFL

Contact: Oliver Brady

Tel: 01482 631208

Email: oliver.brady@southhunsley.org.uk

www.southhunsley.org.uk

  

Woldgate School & Sixth Form College, York YO42 2LL

Secondary Maths, Physics, MFL

Contact: Irie Grant

Tel: 01759 302395

Email: igrant@woldgate.net

www.woldgate.net

 

Silverdale School, Sheffield S11 9QH

Physics, Maths

Contact: Gaynor Jones

Tel: 0114 2369991

Email: gjones@sheffieldtsa.org

www.silverdale-chorustrust.org

 

Sir Jonathan North Community College, Leicester LE2 6FU

Secondary Maths, Core Maths, Physics

Contact: Pat Thompson

Tel: 0116 2708116

Email: pthompson@sjncc.leicester.sch.uk

www.sjncc.leicester.sch.uk

 

The Minster School, Nottingham NG25 0LG

Secondary Maths

Contact: Jayne Ireland

Tel: 01636 814000

Email: j.ireland@minster.notts.sch.uk

www.minster.notts.sch.uk

 

George Spencer Academy, Nottingham, NG9 7EW

Secondary Maths, Physics

Contact: Ryan Metters

Tel: 0115 9170100

Email: rmetters@george-spencer.notts,sch,uk

www.george-spencer.notts.sch.uk

 

The Priory Academy LSST, Lincolnshire LN5 8PW

Secondary Maths, Core Maths, Physics, MFL

Contact: Doug Drake

Tel: 01522 889977

Email: ddrake@lincstsa.co.uk

www.priorylsst.co.uk

 

Manor Church of England Academy, York YO26 6PA

Physics

Contact: Beth Hartwell

Tel: 01904 798722

Email: b.hartwell@ebor-tsa.org

www.manorceacademy.org

 

Sirius Academy West/Blueprint Alliance Teaching School, Hull HU4 7JB

Secondary Maths, Physics, MFL

Contact: Chris Fletcher

Tel: 01482 349612

Email: cfletcher@blueprintalliance.co.uk

www.blueprintalliance.co.uk

More Information
*